The Election Commission of India (ECI) Directs Maharashtra Government to Appoint New Municipal Commissioners

In a directive issued on Wednesday, the Election Commission of India (ECI) instructed the Maharashtra government to appoint Bhushan Gagrani as the new Commissioner of the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC). Additionally, the order mandated the appointment of Saurabh Rao and Kailash Shinde as civic chiefs for Thane and Navi Mumbai, respectively.

Furthermore, the Commission specified that the three appointed officers must not hold any additional responsibilities outside their respective corporations.

This directive comes amidst preparations for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in the country. Maharashtra is set to vote in five phases for 48 constituencies, with vote counting scheduled for June 4.

The Lok Sabha Elections 2024 are scheduled to be held in seven phases, commencing on April 19 and concluding on June 1, with results expected on June 4.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP secured victory in 23 out of 25 contested seats, while the undivided Shiv Sena won 18 out of 23 seats.

Meanwhile, former Maharashtra Chief Minister and Shiv Sena (UBT) chief Uddhav Thackeray announced that the names of Maha Vikas Aghadi candidates would be revealed shortly. However, seat-sharing arrangements between the Congress, Shiv Sena (UBT), and NCP (S Pawar) are yet to be finalized. Prakash Ambedkar, chief of MVA constituent Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi, has voiced discontent, alleging that the Shiv Sena and NCP are not addressing VBA’s demands.

Despite the challenges, Sena UBT leader Sanjay Raut expressed confidence that the MVA bloc would provide stiff competition to the BJP-led NDA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *