Ruturaj Gaikwad to Lead Team India in Hangzhou Asian Games, Senior Men’s Squad Announced

The Men’s Selection Committee has unveiled the Indian squad for the upcoming Hangzhou Asian Games, with batter Ruturaj Gaikwad set to take on the role of captain. The men’s cricket competition, scheduled in a T20 format, will be held from September 28 to October 8 as part of the Asian Games, taking place in China this year from September 23 to October 8, 2023.

However, several veteran players, including Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, Mohammed Shami, KL Rahul, and Jasprit Bumrah, will not be participating in the Asian Games. On the other hand, players such as Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma, and Prabhsimran Singh have secured spots in the Indian squad based on their impressive performances in the recently concluded Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023.

Ruturaj Gaikwad, who scored an impressive 590 runs in 16 matches for the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the IPL, has been appointed as the captain of the Indian team. Yashasvi Jaiswal, currently displaying excellent form and playing in the ongoing Test against West Indies, has also found a place in the squad. Additionally, Shivam Dube, a key middle-order batsman for the Chennai Super Kings in the IPL, has been recalled to the Indian team for the Asian Games.

The Indian squad for the Hangzhou Asian Games includes players like Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wicketkeeper), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Shivam Mavi, Shivam Dube, and Prabhsimran Singh (wicketkeeper).

Moreover, a standby list of players has been prepared, featuring Yash Thakur, Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, and Sai Sudarsan. These players will be ready to step in if any changes are required in the main squad.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *