NCP Leader Ajit Pawar and Eight MLAs Join Maharashtra Government, Speaker Unaware of Exact MLA Numbers

Mumbai: In a significant political development in Maharashtra, NCP leader Ajit Pawar, along with eight other MLAs, has joined the government led by Eknath Shinde. However, the exact number of MLAs supporting Ajit Pawar remains unknown, according to State Assembly Speaker Rahul Narwekar.

Speaking to reporters, Narwekar clarified that the determination of the Leader of the Opposition is made by the head of the Assembly, taking into account all rules and regulations. He stated, “I have no idea about the number of MLAs supporting Ajit Pawar.”

Among the NCP’s 53 MLAs and nine MLCs, a total of nine MLAs, including Ajit Pawar, have joined the Eknath Shinde government.

During the oath-taking ceremony, Ajit Pawar was sworn in as the Deputy Chief Minister of Maharashtra, accompanied by eight other NCP legislators.

The Nationalist Congress Party witnessed internal division as senior leader Ajit Pawar, along with a group of MLAs, joined the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

Ajit Pawar expressed confidence that all MLAs were united and had joined the Shiv Sena-BJP government as a party. He said, “We have all the numbers. All MLAs are with me. We are here as a party. We have informed all seniors also. The majority is given importance in a democracy. Our party is 24 years old, and young leadership should come forward.”

The Deputy Chief Minister further announced that a few more ministers would be included in the upcoming expansion.

“We decided to join the Shinde-Fadnavis government with almost all NCP MLAs. We have taken the oath, and a few more ministers will be added in the next expansion,” Ajit Pawar stated.

State Governor Ramesh Bais administered the oath to NCP leader Ajit Pawar as Maharashtra’s second Deputy Chief Minister. The Governor also administered oaths to Chhagan Bhujbal, Dilip Walse-Patil, Hasan Mushrif, Dhananjay Munde, Dharmarao Baba Atram, Aditi Tatkare, Sanjay Bansode, and Anil Patil.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *