Madhya Pradesh Records 71.16% Voter Turnout in Ongoing Assembly Elections

Madhya Pradesh, currently in the midst of elections for its 230 assembly constituencies, witnessed a robust voter turnout of 71.16% by 5 pm on Friday, according to the Election Commission of India. Notable turnout percentages include Agar Walwa with 82%, Anuppur with 74.85%, and Neemuch with 81.19%.

As of 3 pm, the state had recorded a voter turnout of 60.52%. Bhopal, the capital city, registered 59.19%, while Chhindwara saw 78.85%, Damoh 73.83%, Dhar 72.35%, Dindori 78.30%, Datia 69.66%, Indore 64.95%, and Jhabua 73.10%. Khargone had 75.54% voter turnout, Mandsour recorded 78.07%, and Neemuch reached 81.19% by 5 pm.

Madhya Pradesh, a closely contested state, is posing a challenge for the BJP, with Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan facing the fatigue factor after nearly two decades in power. Webcasting is available at approximately 42,000 polling stations, and extensive security measures have been implemented, with nearly 700 companies of central forces and two lakh state police personnel deployed.

The ongoing elections will determine the fate of over 2,500 candidates, and nearly 5.59 crore voters are eligible to cast their votes. These polls, occurring almost six months before the Lok Sabha elections, hold significance for both the BJP and Congress. The counting of votes for Madhya Pradesh, along with Rajasthan, Telangana, and Mizoram, is scheduled for December 3.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *