Haryana CM Nayab Singh Saini and Ex-CM Manohar Lal Khattar Lodge Nomination Papers

In a significant political move, Haryana Chief Minister Nayab Singh Saini and former Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar submitted their nomination papers on Monday. Khattar, representing the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), is vying for the Karnal Lok Sabha seat, accompanied during the filing process by CM Nayab Singh Saini. Saini, meanwhile, is contesting the assembly bypoll from Karnal, the seat vacated by Khattar for him.

The scenario dictates that for Saini to maintain his position as CM, he must successfully contest and win the Assembly by-election. The political landscape further intensifies with the Congress fielding Divyanshu Buddhiraja against Khattar and Tarlochan Singh against Saini.

The Karnal Lok Sabha constituency, encompassing nine assembly segments, presents a mixed political terrain with six BJP-held segments, one independent, and three under Congress representation.

Earlier statements from Chief Minister Nayab Singh Saini express confidence in the BJP’s electoral prospects, anticipating victories in all ten seats in Haryana, including the Karnal by-election. This fervor stems from the BJP’s sweeping victory in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections in Haryana, securing all ten seats, with Karnal witnessing a substantial voter turnout.

In previous elections, the BJP’s dominance has been evident, particularly in Karnal, with substantial margins of victory. However, historical electoral trends, including Congress successes in Karnal in 2004 and 2009, add layers of intrigue to the upcoming polls. Notably, Congress’ Arvind Kumar Sharma, now contesting from Rohtak under the BJP banner, had previously triumphed in Karnal.

As the countdown to the Lok Sabha elections on May 25 progresses, the political landscape in Haryana remains dynamic, with both major parties vying for electoral supremacy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *